Reynolds (LoL Anti-Tank) Aesthetic

So I started trying to draw some form of freehand concept for Reynolds but I have lost the ability to draw. I don’t know what happened, but everything I came up with looked horrible. It’s weird because Hilde looks quite good (passable at least), the monstrosities of Reynolds in front of me are too embarrassing to share! I doubt I will learn to draw again soon, but I wanted to show you the sort of look I want Reynolds to have.

What has been established so far is that Reynolds is likely to be from Zaun (a haven for mad scientists), he has a whole host of weapons for his abilities and a very active teleporting system which activates after his weapons have cooled down.

For his look, I have had the idea of a hunched over crazy scientist with a massive teleportation pack on his back for weeks. I haven’t even watched Back To The Future but I kept getting Doc Brown’s image in my head.

.

Doc Brown from Back To The Future

.

The doc’s hair is a bit wild for me and his lab coat is a bit white for a dude who needs to pack some serious weaponry. Reynolds is a scientist and an inventor, but he also likes to get his hands dirty with shotguns, grenade launchers, machine pistols and his auto attack weapon (need to decide what that will be). He needs something that can carry the weight of all these items. He needs a trench coat.

.

Now THAT's a trench coat.

.

I was googling ‘Trench Coat’ and saw an image of Hellboy pop up. It’s perfect. Massive, durable and badass… just the thing I’d expect my crazy techno warrior to be wearing to conceal his weapons. The revolver in Hellboy’s hand is also very similar to the sort of thing I want Reynolds to be wielding. Hellboy’s whole look is quite similar to what I’d want Reynolds to look like, but without red skin, a big fist and horns. I also need him hunched over.

Reynolds’ RELOcator teleportation pack is the most important part of his design. The reload mechanic of his skills, his passive and his ultimate are based around this device. It needs to be big. When a weapon is cooling down, I want Reynolds to insert it into his device (which auto-reloads for him). Therefore it needs to fit a grenade launcher, a shotgun and a machine pistol into it. In addition to this, I want there to be a distinct visual and audio cue when his RELOcator is ready to be activated. I’m thinking a little green light and a ding noise when it becomes available. A light-hearted ding will also be quite humorous, as well as distinctive. I don’t want a Reynolds player to have to look at the little buff icons to realize when his teleport is available.

Of all the big technological backpacks in the world, there can only be one contender…

.

Who ya gonna call?

.

This is the sort of thing I’m looking for, but maybe even bigger. Something that would really cause someone to have to hunch over because of the weight.

Reynolds also needs to control his teleportation pack. In-game the player doesn’t have active control over the teleport (it activates when they prepare a skill), but I want the character to look like they’re controlling it visually. To add this dynamic, Reynolds will use 1 hand to shoot all his weapons (his right). He’s a badass, remember? He will shoot his shotgun, machine pistol and grenade launcher with 1 hand (and visibly with difficulty on the grenade launcher). In his left hand, he will hold the teleport controller. On this handheld device, Reynolds will be animated activating his passive teleport, his ultimate and the explosion on his Let It Rip! (which occurs if the enemy is in his range after 3 seconds). Reynolds will generally hold this device by his side, pushing buttons to activate. When he is in his ultimate mode, he will raise it high above his head and probably laugh manically whenever it activates (coupled with some pretty crazy electrical animations around his teleport pack).

.

Reynolds' teleporter controller will look something like the detonator in this picture

.

He should look pretty interesting. If I do finally learn how to draw again, I’ll start working on it!

  • Big Hellboy style trench coat
  • Ghostbusters style backpack
  • Battlefield 2 style detonator
  • Doc Brown/Riddick style goggles

.

Reynolds could look like Riddick

.

I also think he’d look quite good as a black guy and, as there aren’t any black champions in League of Legends (which is kinda lame really!), that could be a possibility. I’m not part of the PC brigade but seriously Riot…

.

.

Sam

