SunnyD and Rum(ble) – Yum, yum!

Despite a torrent of negativity towards the newest champion in League of Legends, I’m actually quite excited about him. The last champion, Brand, was really lacklustre from a design standpoint. He was an AoE fire mage, whoopty doo… haven’t seen that in like 1million games before.

Rumble’s skills are individually quite boring, that I will admit. His Q is just an AoE damage cone. His W is another shield skill (don’t we have enough already?). His E is a skill shot slow, although it has a nice double cast feature. His ultimate is pretty interesting, a long range wall of AoE and slow pain with a new targeting mechanism. He doesn’t sound that exciting does he?!

Fortunately, Rumble’s passive is a really cool skill and is what makes him an exciting champion. All his abilities use Heat, he has no mana or energy. When Rumble is over 50 heat, he enters the danger zone and his skills are buffed. If he reaches maximum heat (120) then he overheats. When Rumble is overheating, he is silenced and has a magic damage buff to his auto-attacks until he cools down. It’s a superb mechanic that is both original, tactical and challenging to manipulate. For maximum ranged effectiveness, you’ll want to time your skills so that you stay below 120 heat but above 50. When you feel like pounding face, you can spam all your skills to reach maximum heat and then pound enemies into the ground with auto attacks.

.

Rumble, the Mechanized Menace

.

What Rumble’s passive does is give you a very interesting choice of item builds. You could go full caster and hope that you never need to overheat. You could go full tanky DPS and spam all your abilities to ensure you’re getting bonus magic damage on your auto-attacks as much as possible. The optimum playstyle will have to be seen, but I hope you can really kick ass with overheat attacks. I want to create a hybrid build that focuses on…

.

  • Cooldown Reduction: More spam = more overheat
  • Attack Speed: More speed = more bonus damage
  • Ability Power: More ability power = stronger shield and buffed AoE damage
  • Resistances: AR and MR so you can stay in the fray and pound face.

.

There are not many champions with this sort of build. I can only recall Akali building AS and AP, I’m not sure if she cares for CDR or Resistances (especially since she can stealth). His passive opens up such interesting possibilities that I’m really looking forward to getting my hands on Rumble and seeing what works best. I want to get an early build up on MobaFire, with these objectives above, to try and stimulate some discussion on the newest champ. I think he’s getting a lot of bad press and he’s barely had a chance yet!

It’s yet to be seen what the best way to play him will be, but I want to be spamming my skills and overheating as much as I can. Alternating between ranged and melee, tanking a bit of damage and causing some serious AoE pain. The first build I will try will include:

.

  • Abyssal Scepter
  • Mercury’s Treads
  • Guinsoo’s Rageblade
  • Nashor’s Tooth
  • Randuin’s Omen
  • Lich Bane (possibly… the mana is wasted but he can spam skills and auto attack, so it’s great!)

.

By the way, that isn’t the exact order I hope to acquire them in. Tomorrow can’t come soon enough!

.

.

Sam

2 Comments to “SunnyD and Rum(ble) – Yum, yum!”

  1. Kayle has a similar build mix of intertwining AS and AP. Got to play against Rumble only once last night, and it was clear that the player was still figuring it out.

    • Yeah I’ve been playing him a lot today. He’s definitely a lot of fun, really love his heat mechanic. So far I’ve had Abyssal Scepter in every game, it’s pretty much perfect. I tried Randuin’s Omen which felt good. Guinsoo’s Rageblade I’ve never really had the chance to get yet, I’ve always needed survivability before I build it. Rylai’s Crystal Scepter is nice too

