FGR – 18th April 2011 – Zombie Lane and Tetris Battle

Welcome to the Facebook Game Review! In this daily series (except perhaps on the weekends), I will be looking at, sharing my thoughts and giving verdicts on the hottest and coldest entrants to the Social Gaming ring. Each post will feature a new game, an update on existing ones, and a final score.

Lacking a new game review today, apologies! Extra long for Zombie Lane though…

Daily Review

Zombie Lane

All the weekend, Zombie Lane was the same old same old. I was clearing rubble, looking for the last piece to fix my house (the main story quest). After about 4 days of constant searching, I got the last part 1 hour ago!

.

The epic story quest

.

One thing that Zombie Lane is doing very well is the narrative. While the general mechanics and drop rates are mediocre at best, one thing that has impressed me has been the sense of purpose. You have a main story quest, unlike CityVille where you have about 3 different quest arcs and can’t figure out which is the most important. As I said before, Zombie Lane does feel a bit like the tutorial of an MMORPG. I really like that.

After finally completing that quest, there was a BOSS! Yes, a boss! For the next stage of quests,  you have to get crops. Zombie Lane makes you save the farmer dude from a Riot Squad Zombie. This special zombie requires a particular weapon. This is where the previously aesthetic (and shamelessly stolen) collectibles come into play. God, was I wrong. They’ve been utilized very well. There is a crafting system which uses the collectibles to make special items. So far I’ve only had to make these Fire Mitts to defeat the riot zombie, but there is a lot of potential. This is a brilliant feature.

.

Collectibles are used to craft special items, like these firey gloves

Using the Fire Mitts against the Riot Squad Zombie

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Today I have been very impressed with Zombie Lane. What interests me is why they had me wait so long to find out about these cool features! There should have been a system that recognized I was never going to invite my friends to complete that quest (it took 4 days!), so it should have just given me the item so that I wouldn’t give up. Regular users aren’t forced to login, unlike me!

.

Tetris Battle

As mentioned in the last post, I don’t like Tetris, so I wasn’t really compelled to login over the weekend. I did play a couple of games today and I’m still thinking that it’s simulated competition… not against actual people. Still, it’s quite enjoyable in (very) short bursts. I noticed some form of progression in the shop today

.

Upgrades for your Tetris battlin

.

It’s good that there is something to work towards. Tetris is an old game and, in my opinion, quite dated. People aren’t going to want to play it again and again (unlike Bejewelled Blitz). Having some progression is cool, although I would only ever really want the ‘Next-Piece Queue’ attribute. The rest aren’t necessary to be honest.

.

.

Sam

