FGR – 14th April 2011 – Wine Guru & Zombie Lane update

Welcome to the Facebook Game Review! In this daily series (except perhaps on the weekends), I will be looking at, sharing my thoughts and giving verdicts on the hottest and coldest entrants to the Social Gaming ring. Each post will feature a new game, an update on existing ones, and a final score.

Introducing… Wine Guru

Back when I was in Shanghai reviewing social games, I used to use GameZebo as my resource for the most up-to-date list of Facebook games. Now I’ve started the Facebook Game Review, it’s back to GZ to see what’s on my plate this week. Wine Guru is what I decided to check out.

Wine Guru is an Argentine Vineyard Simulation, although I’m sure it’s very basic compared to the real thing. You log in, pick one of 2 grapes, click the one square you have cash to click and then select how much you want to water your grapes per season. Once you have done that, you click it by harvesting and wait for an hour. It’s 1:36am so I’m probably not going to wait an hour to update you on it, so you’ll just have to wait until tomorrow for the riveting news!

Wine Guru is not a great game. I think that is a pretty fair assumption even though I’ve played it for about 5 minutes. There is literally 5 minutes worth of gameplay and none of that is particularly entertaining. It’s such a strange game, it really throws a curveball at me. It’s got this whole professional wine-making vibe to it, with detailed information about the region and the grapes. It even tells you more than you want to know about wine barrels! Yet the first thing you see is this…

.

Samuel Greens vintage 2011 Argentinian Wine, Using a telephone?

.

Come on guys! If you can type out all that crap about wine barrels, I’m sure you can correctly ask what we want to call our vineyard! Unless they copied and pasted it from Wikipedia.

I actually have another screenshot but I don’t really have enough text to stick in between that and the last one I posted, there really is that little to say about Wine Guru. I did like 2 things in Wine Guru. 1) The font and dark purple stylings are pretty flash. I think it looks quite nice! Better than Zombie Lane’s font choices anyway! 2) Choosing how much to water your grapes depending on the season, with no assistance, is a nice idea I suppose. It seems that when you have about 8-9 plots, with different grapes, that it might encourage interesting experimentation that this laissez faire approach allows. It least it’s an evolution on just clicking!

.

Really? My unadulterated fun is about to be adulterated?!

.

I’ll let you know how Wine Guru turns out over the next couple of days, but I’m not promising much! Perhaps I should check out the more established My Vineyard by Playdom for my wine making fix.

Daily Review

Zombie Lane

Things are still going swimmingly in Zombie Lane. I still haven’t even reached the bread and butter of the game yet (unless the whole thing is quest based). You actually need to play this for about 5-6 five minute periods per day to really advance quickly. Your energy regenerates quite quickly (probably along the same lines as CityVille’s 2 hour wait), and you are given a lot to spend your energy on. Currently I’m 1 item away from fixing my house and about 10 clicks away from completing a quest to clear up the garbage on the map.

.

Litter Picking - Every gamers dream!

.

Hopefully I’ll actually see some advancement for the update tomorrow!

.

.

Sam

