Balancing Hilde – Castable Cooldowns and UI

A quick summary for all of y’all

  • Hilde has 13 skills
  • Hilde’s main gameplay is switching stances and managing her stackable buffs/debuffs
  • That’s complicated enough

So with those things in mind, her 3 stance abilities (the castables) can go one of two ways. They could be a shorter duration cooldown so that Hilde can throw them in between her stance switches (BAM, switch, BAM, switch, BAM) or they can be longer cooldowns (with more power of course) so that they’re used with more thought and for dealing with particularly tough battles. I think the second way is better. It also makes her less confusing and fiddly.

.

Lee Sin - With a much cooler skin.

.

As mentioned in my first proper skill workings post, the UI might be a bit of an issue for Hilde. There is a lot of text on her ability descriptions. While it wasn’t as bad as I first thought, there is definitely room for improvement. Thankfully, I got an idea from the newest released champion, Lee Sin. I’m not sure exactly how his UI works, but he has 3 castable abilities! If he hits his Q, his Q will change to another skill for a short while. Since I haven’t played Lee Sin, I don’t know exactly how it is shown (I think he’s becoming free this week), but it gave me an idea. When Hilde is in a stance, the button will change to show her castable and ultimate ability. When she is out of a stance, it will show the switch and persistent effect.

This looks much better.

.

Old style at top; New style at bottom

.

The champion will have to know what their current stance does, however. To sort this, Hilde will gain a little buff icon for whatever stance she is in (like the icons for Karma’s Mantra, Teemo’s Move Quick, Olaf’s Vicious Strikes). This can be highlighted and the details will be shown. It’s a much, much better system which removes all the worry I had about the UI. It will be interesting to try Lee Sin and find out if his skills actually look like this.

.

.

There are all my skills with the new style. Now, apart from the cooldown and name of her ultimate, I just need to fill in the X’s!

.

.

Sam

