LoL Tank – Hilde might have a problem…

Last time I chose a name for my female tank for League of Legends and came up with a draft synopsis for a story concept. I thought that since I’ve got the fluff almost done, I should finally sort out the important stuff, her skills. Quite a long time ago, I shared my skill concept. In super short, Hilde is a tank that has to use skill combos by switching between and activating her weapon stances to adapt to the situation.

In coming up with the finalized skills, I decided I wanted to make it look as legitimate as possible and chose to make skill descriptions as they would look in-game. The result is similar enough to give a good idea (finding an exact font is really tough) but a new problem has emerged. I know Hilde’s skills are complicated, but the implications of this could really screw up the user interface.

Because there are 4 effects for her weapon skills, the skill description boxes are much bigger than on a regular champion. I was comparing my skill boxes to Udyr’s (the only other champion with stances). Below is how they look…

.

Top Box = Udyr's Tiger Stance. Second Row = 4-part skill descriptions. Third Row = 3-part skill descriptions.

.

As you can see, my skill description boxes are either twice as big as Udyr’s (with all 4 effects described) or about 25% bigger for the first 3 and about 125% bigger for the ultimate (with the 4th effect described in the ultimate description). It is a worry, especially since I haven’t even tried to address the problem of multiple cooldowns in the same box. I’ve added multiple mana costs, which look ok.

Here’s how it looks in a couple of screenshots. The first is with all 4 effects in the skill box, the second is with 3 effects in the description (the ultimate containing details of all the ‘charge’ skills instead).

.

My skill description as it would look in-game...

...actually not so bad, right?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I went through a bit of a worry phase, and not only because of the UI. I began to think that perhaps my champion is too complicated. One option would be to remove the persistent effects, but it would be really strange to have 3 weapons that do exactly the same thing with their auto attack. If I removed the cast effect, the champion would basically be the same as Udyr (with Sona’s new passive turned into an ultimate). At first glance, it does seem like a very complicated champion… but when you try to visualize the skills in your head, it’s not as bad as you’d think.

I’ve designed the weapons to fulfil particular roles. Any ability that’s related to the Aegis of Kaladoun is going to cause little damage but give defensive support and utility to your team. Any ability which utilizes Hilde’s huge axe, Fyrone Temblor, causes crowd control and more offensive minded support. Icathian Blades are Hilde’s main offensive weapons, helping her get kills and taking advantage of her uber defense (after using her Aegis) or her uber crowd control (after using her Axe). Essentially Aegis = Defence, Axe = Initiation, Blades = Threat. These 3 factors are what make a strong tank.

With clever use of cooldown timers, I think I can reduce some of the confusion that 13 skills will cause. Tribal Dash (name is gonna be changed) will probably have a typical ultimate cooldown (90-180 secs), while the weapon cast effects  will likely have cooldowns which allow their use once or twice in a team fight at the most. The main focus of Hilde is switching stances in the right place at the right time, the castables and her ultimate are her powerful extras and therefore should be used in moderation.

What else is new with Hilde? Well, I decided on some persistent effects! If you read my Nocturne posts you’ll know that I love stackable abilities and items. I thought that would be a cool place to start.

Fyrone Temblor: Hilde’s attacks reduce the target’s armor and magic resistance for a short time. Stacks up to 5 times.

Aegis of Kaladoun: Hilde gains increased armor and magic resistance when she is damaged. Stacks up to 10 times.

Icathian Blades: Hilde gains XX% lifesteal.

These persistent effects (which will linger), give Hilde an objective in battle. The longer she survives and the more effective her weapon selection, the stronger she will become. For example, she can switch between Aegis and Blades to make her extremely durable. Or she can switch between Temblor and Blades to maximise her self-healing (armor reductions = more lifesteal). For full on team support, Temblor and Aegis will make you very resistant but also increase the amount of damage your allies cause.

Haha, it feels like it’s getting complicated again!

.

.

Sam

 

