koth_lockup – Central Point

Before, I was deciding between whether to do the central point or the yard guardhouse next. After playing around in the yard, I realized that a full sized guardhouse didn’t really work in the space. I think I will have to add something extra for the emptiness that’s still left, but I want to see how the yard pans out in playtests before doing that.

Therefore I worked on a couple of things. The first was to make the ramp to the second floor cells internal. Before I’d just put in a makeshift ramp, but it’s meant to be a sort of security access. Now it’s indoors.

.

Ramp to Second Floor

The outside of the building.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The central point consists of the prisoner’s cell in a platform above the capture point. I’ve placed what will be 2 computer terminals inside the capture area, this gives a bit of narrative into what the teams are fighting for, the controls for the cell. The second floor allows access to the cell and lets teams build sentry guns to cover the multiple entrances to the point. Due to the cover that the cell provides, it allows some quite strong sentry positions with a team covering the rear. It is actually quite a cramped area in general (compared to the quite spacious cell blocks), so I think I’ll wait for playtests before I make any more changes to it.

.

The central control point

Need to figure out why it's pink...

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The next area I will work on is the outdoors. Apart from the courtyard access to the west/east blocks, the internal section of my map is almost finished. What is left is the outdoor run to the prison, and the respawn point. Once they’re done, I’ll need to figure out how to create a skybox. Not too long left before I can release my first alpha!

.

.

.

Sam

