koth_jailbird – Early Preview

Still not sure what to call my map yet, but I’m pretty much set on the prison theme so there are a few possibilities; Jailbird being one of them.

I spent most of the day (and a previous one) simply putting together my map. It’s all done in development colours, with no proper lighting. It’s also as simple as possible, with no props and certain complex features (like my radial staircase) have been avoided.

So far I have almost completed the basic layout of the yard…

.

View of Courtyard from the South Wall

Similar in-game view

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I still have to add the guard hut, the basketball hoops and properly work on the terraces (I did a very quick job on some templates).

I have also completed the skeleton structure for the north and south cell blocks. There is an overlooking platform on each side, with windows from which to shoot (or be shot) from. So far, all the cells are open… when I properly flesh out this room, I will have to figure out which cells I want to be unavailable. Having all the cells open is boring, plus it gives way too many little nooks and crannies for buildings and sneaky spies.

.

Southern Cell Block in editor

 

The Cells. The empty middle section will contain the capture point and some interesting rampways around the captured scientist.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I also played my first mappers gameday on Sunday. It was interesting in a number of ways. What alarmed me on the first map I played was that it was pretty good. We were running around leaving feedback notes, and the gripes were relatively minor. About technical difficulties rather than gameplay. That was quite intimidating at first! Then we got onto some horrible maps. One of them was just completely bugged to crap, so that was skipped. The second one was so dark that it felt like you were playing Doom 3. It was a strange medieval theme with some absolutely crazy doors (crazy good? No, just bad). The next map was actually pretty fun, but the theme and textures were a complete mess; people didn’t know whether it was meant to be wooden, stone, spy-tech or mountainous.

.

View from the tower onto the yard.

.

Overall it was quite scary! Running around the map, complaining about seemingly petty things, was a case of ‘Do unto your neighbour’. I was imagining myself being the map maker and having tons of people slate every little mistake or flaw in my map design. On the other hand, I think my basis of having a strong, coherent theme from the outset, and a simple KOTH mode was a good idea. I’m expecting lots of gameplay problems for my first attempt, but I’ll be surprised if the map doesn’t look good (well, at least not confusing!).

Next, I will be finishing the Wall and Wall Entrance from the West/East cell blocks. Once that’s done, then the whole exterior of my map is pretty much finished.

.

.

Sam

