koth_notsureyet – Preliminary Design

Good morning to one and all!

I’ve finished with my research (i.e. I couldn’t stand it anymore) and put the proverbial pen to paper on my initial design for my KOTH TF2 map. I went with the prison concept because I felt it was much more original and had the potential for something really exciting. The central control point will actually be pretty awesome too, a maximum security cell will be the visual landmark, my initial idea is to be able to look inside the cell… but we’ll see if it’s technically possible to stick a dude in there before I get too excited about it.

.

.

Essentially I wanted to have two main areas featured in my map; the cells and the yard. The path through the buildings, leading to the cells and central point, is the main route. If the player wants to take an alternative route, they can brave the prison yard (complete with watchtowers) and an overlooking perimeter wall.

Compared to last time, I didn’t really think too much about the design of the layout. The whole map is missing cover or other fancy features, for now. I want to get this done as fast as possible, test it and iterate it, which is much more effective than theorycrafting. Once I see how the current map pans out, I’ll have some data which I can use to tweak things or even completely change areas.

Next up will be an update from the editor!

.

.

Sam

