Intrigue of Legends

Yeah I know, it’s horrible. I’ll get on my pun-writing guy. You try finding a word that rhymes with “league”!

In my previous post, I mentioned the awards that League of Legends (LoL) has recently won and said I should check out the game. Well, I have. Unfortunately I’ve come across technical problems and cannot really give you a solid, in-depth review of the game. My internet is too slow to play online (which is a problem in an online game) and I can’t purchase any of the Champions (Heroes) because I’ll likely transfer to the Chinese version of the game when it’s released. Or when my friend can get me a Beta key *nudge nudge*.

.

DotA Killer?

.

What I will do, and what I think will give a much better overall judgement of the game, are champion reviews! I already review quite a lot of DotA heroes on the PlayDota.com Hero Suggestion forum, and suggest my own. I think I’m pretty good at theorycrafting for these types of games and with my hero creation experience I should be able to give a good opinion about the current heroes in LoL. Every week there is a new ‘rotation’ of champions, where Riot Games (the developer) allows access to 10 of the champions for free. This is a good idea, as it lets you try out the champions before spending your hard-earned Influence Points (or hard-earned $$$). It’s also a good idea because it gives me 10 champions to comment on each week!

.

Sure is purty

.

So, every week I’ll write some short reviews of the currently available LoL champions. I’ll be reviewing aesthetics, background stories, skills, skill synergy, inter-hero synergy and whether the champion is fun. At the end of this project (which could take a couple of months, maybe more) there’ll be a nice big database of champion design reviews. Of course, like theorycrafting about DotA hero suggestions, I’m not testing these in an actual game environment. I can’t play online in a competitive atmosphere, only against the terrible AI. Perhaps some champions are more fun to play than to read. I’ll try and keep that in mind, but you guys gotta keep that in mind too!

This week I’ll be reviewing;

 

Hopefully anyway, I’ve only got 4 days and I need to play a lot more!

.

.

Sam

