Rethinking the Artillery game

I did not know this was a genre! I thought it was ‘Turn-based 2D strategy game’ or something like that, but no it’s an ‘Artillery game’.

.

Artillery for the Apple II

.

The games I’m talking about are Worms, Wild Ones, DDT and Gunbound (a few notable examples). You know the type, the games where you control an individual or a team of little characters armed with a bunch of weapons. Then you proceed to blast each other to smithereens or off the map entirely. These games have barely evolved since the dawn of time, yet they are still tremendously popular. Apparently, DDT is the most popular webgame in China. Wild Ones has around 4 million monthly active users and Worms has had so many iterations that I can’t even recall the latest one.

Recently I was asked to look at these games and come up with a new game that would be a good fit for Facebook. Even Wild Ones (a Facebook game) has extremely limited social features, so my number 1 objective was to bring the best social features from other Facebook games into my Artillery game. In addition to this, I want to streamline the gameplay and combine the coolest features from all the competition to create the best artillery game experience possible.

.

Worms Armageddon

.

The next few posts on this blog will cover various aspects of the Artillery game, what currently exists and what can be improved. It will all culminate in a complete concept for the ultimate artillery game. Hell, if I manage to sell the idea my bosses might agree to work on it. If that’s the case then this blog will get much more interesting!..

.

.

Sam

2 Responses to “Rethinking the Artillery game”

  1. Hey that looks like the Coco Game I wrote way way back. But the arrow looks funny and the landscape almost never come out even on both sides. I know is some later versions I had logic to prevent that so that one player couldn’t copy the others settings.

Trackbacks

